Disable GPS location tagging of your photos & videos on iPhone/iPad

Location information or GPS data is very sensitive data you should only share with people you trust. For example, when you are going to catch up with some good friend, you can use WeChat to share your location on the phone so you can easily find each other at any places you never been there before, even those crowded places, such as busy shopping malls, airport, bus station, metro stops. You can also share your location on iPhone via Apple Maps, iMessage, or other compatible third-party apps. Sometimes however your GPS information or location data is shared without intention. For example, you took some great pictures on the phone and published them to your own website or blog, or in social networks, like Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, Flickr.

How to disable geo-tagging or location for photos and videos on iPhone iPad?

To turn on or off the location service or GPS on iPhone, iPad or iPod touch, go to iOS Settings >> Privacy >> Location Services. You will then see a screen like below.

enable or disable GPS location services on ipad

Location services uses GPS along with crowd-sourced Wi-Fi hotspot and cell tower locations to determine your approximate location. You may choose to disable location services at any time for any or all apps on iPhone iPad or iPod touch. You can either turn off the global location services switch or turn off the individual location switches of each location-aware app or feature on iPhone/iPad/iPod. To turn Photo geotagging on or off on your iPhone/iPad, choose Camera >> While Using to enable GPS location tagging for photos on iOS device or choose Camera >> Never to disable geo-tagging for photos and videos captured or taken using the camera of your iPhone, iPad or iPod touch.

Bonus tips on photo/video GPS location data on iPhone/iPad

By turning off location service for the stock Camera app for iOS, you will lose the ability to filter photos/videos based on the location. Also this disabling only works within the stock camera app, not any third party camera apps or others. So if you use any third-party apps like Instagram, WhatsApp, they apps can still access your camera and take photos with location data.

Delete GPS information from existing photos

After remove the location service access from Camera app on iPhone iPad or iPod touch, new photos and videos taken or recorded using your iOS device will not save any GPS information, your location, the coordinates, geographic data, latitude / longitude when you took the photo. This however does not affect existing photos or videos in your Camera Roll.

The GPS data is stored in the EXIF data attached to every picture you take using the iPhone’s camera. There are several services and software tools that delete all EXIF and location data from photos. You can follow this guide to delete EXIF, GPS/GEO data from iPhone photos using an image editor app.

If you are using a Windows PC, the system can actually even do it natively without the need of any third party applications. Check out following guide to delete GPS location and other private data from images in Windows 10.